Board of Directors

Officers - Executive Committee

John Murphy
Shook, Hardy, & Bacon


Vice Chair
Ora Reynolds
Hunt Midwest


Greg A. Reid
BoomDeYada, LLC


Mark Fortino
Bank of Blue Valley


Vice Chair, Development
Denise Bade
Lockton Companies


Vice Chair, Education
Robert K. Wolf


Vice Chair, Facilities
Tom Waggoner


Vice Chair, Marketing
Kara Hendon


Vice Chair, Strategic Planning
Kimberley Newton
Hallmark Cards, Inc.


EPIC Chair
Steve Doyal
Hallmark Cards (retired)

Board Directors

Robert M. Barnes
Bryan Cave
Becky Blades
Startistry Publishing


Lesley Elwell
JE Dunn
Ed Enyeart


Anita B. Gorman - Lifetime Member
Community Volunteer
Michael Hagedorn
UMB Bank


Jenny Housley
Blue KC
Mary Jorgenson
Community Volunteer


Matthew Kenny
Kansas City Chiefs
Meredith Keeler
The Taubman Company/ Country Club Plaza


Mark Larrabee
Arvest Bank- Greater Kansas City
Trina R. Le Riche
Ogletree Deakins


Jane McAtee
Southwest Airlines
Terry O’Toole
Kansas City Transportation Group


Roshann Parris
Parris Communications, Inc.
Daniel C. Schulte
B12 Capital Partners, LLC


Christina Sternberg
Mike Talboy
Burns and McDonnell


Kevin Uhlich
Kansas City Royals
Jean Deramus Wagner
Community Volunteer


Nancy Whitworth
McCownGordon Construction

Ex-Officio Members

Past Board Chairs
Charles W. Battey
Sprint (retired)
Robert A. Bernstein
Bernstein Rein Advertising (retired)


Dianne Cleaver
Community Volunteer
James D. Dawson
Fairway Consulting Group


Steve Doyal
Hallmark Cards, Inc. (retired)
Peggy J. Dunn
Mayor of Leawood


Greg M. Graves
Burns & McDonnell (retired)
Shirley Bush Helzberg
Helzberg Foundation


Jack W. Kennedy
Community Volunteer
Robert A. Kipp
Hallmark Cards, Inc. (retired)


Michael F. Morrissey
Ernst & Young, LLP (retired)
Carolyn Watley


W. Russell Welsh


Young Friends of Starlight Chair
Alison Kidd
Ascend Integrated Media


Civic Organizations
Mayor Sly James
Office of the Mayor Kansas City, MO
Mayor Mark Holland
Office of the Mayor Kansas City, KS


Jean Paul Chaurand, President
Kansas City Parks & Recreation
Shannon Cade
Commissioner Kansas City Parks & Recreation


Allen Dillingham
Commissioner Kansas City Parks & Recreation
Mary Jane Judy
Commissioner Kansas City Parks & Recreation


David Mecklenburg
Commissioner Kansas City Parks & Recreation
Mark L. McHenry
Director Kansas City Parks & Recreation


Daniel Silva
Kansas City Kansas Chamber of Commerce
Joe Reardon
Greater Kansas City Chamber of Commerce

Employee Officers

Richard Baker
President & CEO
Donna Thomason
President & Creative Director,
EPIC Innovative Events, Inc.


Cindy Jeffries
Vice President of Marketing & Sales
Brenda Mortensen
Vice President of Finance 


Barb Schulte
Vice President of Education & Outreach 
Bill Waugh
Vice President of Concerts & Info Systems