Blue Star Awards

Modeled after Broadway’s Tony Awards®, Starlight Theatre’s annual Blue Star Awards recognize achievement and excellence in musical theatre among Kansas City area high school students.

Established in 2003, the Blue Star Awards are one of the largest and most admired high school musical theatre awards programs in the nation. All high schools in metropolitan Kansas City and selected outlying communities are invited to participate. Each year the program serves 5,000 area students who contribute either on the stage or behind the scenes to their schools’ musical theatre productions.  

Adjudicators, who are theatre professionals, performing artists, designers and theatre arts educators, attend each participating school’s musical and provide evaluations and commentary to Starlight’s Education Department. Their comments are also compiled and shared with each school’s theatre teacher and students.

Each May, the program culminates with the red-carpet Blue Star Awards Ceremony on the Starlight stage.

Starlight strongly believes that through the spirit of healthy competition and the accolades gained by Blue Star Awards’ recognition, area students, teachers and schools are inspired to excel in musical theatre and all arts programs.

High schools interested in learning more about the Blue Star Awards are encouraged to contact

The 16th Annual Blue Star Awards Ceremony will take place on Thursday night, May 17, 2018.

The ceremony begins at 7:30 p.m. and is free and open to the public. Parking is $5 per vehicle.

The annual culminating event of the Blue Star Awards, the ceremony publicly recognizes the outstanding achievements of high school musical theatre students from high schools in Kansas City and surrounding areas.

During the event, schools nominated for Outstanding Overall Production stage numbers from their schools’ musicals, and individuals nominated for Outstanding Lead Actor and Lead Actress honors perform musical medleys.

Blue Star Awards are presented in 22 categories on Starlight’s Cohen Community Stage. Award presenters include Starlight and local arts leaders.