Blue Star Awards

Blue Star Awards

Modeled after Broadway’s Tony Awards®, Starlight’s annual Blue Star Awards recognize achievement and excellence in musical theatre among Kansas City area high school students.

Established in 2003, the program is one of the largest and most admired high school musical theatre awards programs in the nation. All high schools in metropolitan Kansas City and selected outlying communities are invited to participate. Each year the program serves 5,000 area students who contribute either on the stage or behind the scenes to their schools’ musical theatre productions.

Adjudicators, who are theatre professionals, performing artists, designers and theatre arts educators, attend each participating school’s musical and provide evaluations and commentary to Starlight’s Education Department. Their comments are also compiled and shared with each school’s theatre teacher and students.

Each year, the program culminates with the red-carpet Blue Star Awards Ceremony on the Starlight stage.

Starlight strongly believes that through the spirit of healthy competition and the accolades gained by Blue Star Awards’ recognition, area students, teachers and schools are inspired to excel in musical theatre and all arts programs.

High schools interested in learning more about the program are encouraged to contact

Program Information


The Blue Star Awards are generously supported by Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Kansas City, CommunityAmerica Credit Union, Southwest Airlines, and Chicken N Pickle.

Skip to content